Classification of Cotton Essay

Created with Sketch.



Classification of Cotton

The length of the staple which develops in the cotton ball is the basis of classifying the cotton in different industrial varieties. On the basis of staple length, three groups are recognized.

  1. Long-staple (length 24.5 mm to 27 mm and above),
  2. Medium staple (length 20 mm to 24-5 mm), and
  3. Short staple (length 19 mm and below).

India produces all three varieties. Centers for facilities for grading of cotton lint in India are at Surat (Gujarat), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Raichur (Karnataka), Tirupur (Tamil Nadu), Khandwa (Madhya Pradesh), etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This is a free online math calculator together with a variety of other free math calculatorsMaths calculators