Composition of Lok Sabha

Created with Sketch.



Composition of Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha refers to the lower House of Indian Parliament. It consists of 547 members:

  • 525 members are State representatives,
  • 25 members are represents the Union Territories, and
  • The Indian President nominates 2 members from the Anglo-Indian community.

The members of Lok Sabha are directly elected by Indian citizens who are atleast 18 years old. The tenure of Lok Sabha is five years. The members elect a Speaker from among themselves to preside at its meetings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This is a free online math calculator together with a variety of other free math calculatorsMaths calculators