Facts about Odisha (Orissa)

Created with Sketch.



Facts about Odisha (Orissa)

Odisha is located on the east coast of India facing the Bay of Bengal. The major facts of Odisha (Orissa) State is mentioned below:

Existence: It was created on 1st April, 1936 during the British Period. The foundation day of Odisha, also known as Utkala Dibasa, is celebrated every year on the first day of April. The term ‘Utkala” that appears in our National Anthem denotes this region.

Boundary: Odisha is surrounded by West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh.

Population: As per Census 2011, the total population of Odisha is 41,947,358. Odisha holds 11th position in population wise.

Land Area: The total land area of Odisha is 155,820 sq. km. Odisha holds 9th position as area wise.

Language: Its Official Language is Oriya (Odia).

Literacy: Its Literacy Ratio is 73.45%

City: The Capital city, Bhubaneshwar, is the largest city.

District: There are 30 districts located in Odisha.

Connectivity: It is well connected via roadways, railways and airways. There are also helipads located in different places in the state.

Dances: The Odishi classical dance form is world famous besides fold dances such as Chhau, Chaiti Ghoda, etc.

Handicraft: The handicraft of Odisha is world famous. The handicraft items includes silver filigree, glass beads, tussar fabric works, etc.

Places of Interest: Some of the prominent places which make visitor’s interests are Bhubaneswar, Puri, and Konark etc.

Festivals: World Famous ‘Chariot Festival” or ‘Car Festival” or ‘Ratha Yatra” is celebrated in a large way.

Religion: Around 94% of the people in Odisha practice Hinduism. The other religions are Islam, Christianity, Jainism, etc.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This is a free online math calculator together with a variety of other free math calculatorsMaths calculators