List of Major Oil Fields in India

Created with Sketch.



List of Major Oil Fields in India

Oilfields of India are of two types, namely On-shore Oil-fields and Off-shore Oil-fields. The list of major Oil Fields in India are given below:

1. On-shore Oil‑fields in North-Eastern India:

In Assam there are Digboi (oldest field, 1866), Naharkatiya, Moran, Rudrasagar, Galeki, Hugrijan, Angui and Lakwa fields.

There are oil-fields at Nigreu Oil-fields near Kharasang in Tirap district, in Arunachal Pradesh. In Nagaland oil­fields are at Borholla on the border between Nagaland and Assam.

2. On-shore Oil-fields in Western In­dia:

In Gujarat important fields are:

  • Anklesh war (largest field in the Khambhat Basin),
  • Kalol,
  • Navagam ,
  • Kosamba,
  • Barkol,
  • Dholaka,
  • Mehsana,
  • Kadi,
  • Ahmedabad and
  • Sanand fields.

3. On-shore Oil-fields in Southern India:

Godavari Basin, Kaveri Basin has become now a prospective oil-field of India. Oil­fields are at Narimanam, Kovilappal, etc.

Off-shore Oil-fields is in the Mumbai High region, out in the Arabian Sea, 152 km north-west of Mumbai City. The name of the rig installed here is Sagar Samrat.

Oil Mining States: Petroleum raising States of India are arranged in order of their annual production: Maharashtra (Mumbai High), Gujarat, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh.

Potential Oil Mining regions: New oil and gas fields are expected to be opened up shortly in Tapti basin, Kaveri basin, Mahanadi basin, Manipur, Tripura, Andaman Islands, Satpura range, Vindhya Range and Rajasthan desert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This is a free online math calculator together with a variety of other free math calculatorsMaths calculators