Tebhaga Peasant Movement

Created with Sketch.



Tebhaga Peasant Movement

Causes of the Tebhaga Peasant Movement: The Flood Commission recommended for two-third of the crop, instead of half, for the sharecroppers. In September 1946, the Bengal Pradeshik Kisan Sabha gave a call to implement the recommendation of the Flood Commission.

The centers of the movement: The Tebhaga Peasant Movement started at Thakurgaon in Dinajpiur sub-division in North Bengal.

In November, during harvest time the sharecroppers took paddy to their own threshing floor with the slogan of ‘take paddy to own granary’. The movement soon caught a large area including Jalpaiguri, Rangpur and Malda. The movement also found fertile land to spread in Maimansingha, Midnapore and 24 Parganas.

Leadership: Communist cadres went out into countryside to organize sharecroppers. Under the leadership of the Communist leaders, particularly Bhavani Sen, sharecroppers of Dinajpur, Rangpur and Jalpaiguri districts launched the movement.

Other important leaders were a Rajbanshi widow, popularly known as burima of Deviganj, Hazi Mohammad Danesh, Charu Majumdar etc. Both Hindu and Muslim peasants were involved in the movement.

Failure: The Tebhaga Peasant Movement failed on account of various reasons.

  • When peasant militants wanted arms, the communists could not provide them.
  • The tribal peasants pressed hard for more militancy which was declined by middle and rich peasants.
  • The professional classes in the urban areas of north Bengal did not support the movement.
  • At last, with the outbreak of the communal riot in 1947 and under pressure of British police the movement ended.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This is a free online math calculator together with a variety of other free math calculatorsMaths calculators